Freshwater tank on board, yes or no?

gimmeagig

Name
Roxy
I have the opportunity to buy a used freshwater tank for my truck.Even used it's not inexpensive.I'm just starting out and I need a lot of other things as well.
For the money of the tank I could also purchase quite a few tools.I'd like a rotary tool or a prochem upholstery tool for example.I'm not sure I can swing it all on my budget.I'll have to set priorities.
How important is it to have a tank on board.I know all that weight puts more stress on the truck and I'll be using more gas hauling around 100 gal of water.The weight will be all on one side and my truck might handle poorly.And I'm loosing space on the truck.Those are definite negatives.In the winter outside spigots on houses might be shut off and then it might be good to have a tank.What is more common in the industry.Tank or no tank.What are the pros and cons?

vincent

Name
Vincent Sapp
I have always had a fw tank. Wouldn't go without now, I would make sure its at least 100 gal.

I have a 120 gal fw tank and the same with the waste tank. Its convenient and I don't have to hook up another hose.

Mikey P

Administrator
If I had to choose between a Freshy and my 175 the rotary would win hands down. Not even a question.

Although once you become accustomed to the luxury of a Freshy, you'll never go back.

A standard cargo van does not have enough room for all my tools and a Freshy imo.

Kevin B

Name
Kevin Bunce
Roxy;

Save the money on the tank, and buy the tools you need to make money. You can always buy the tank. I have never had one, but would love one if I felt I needed it. It would be nice in the winter, or even for a small job where you have to run 30080808080897979676858987 feet of garden hose for 1 room.

Other than that, get yourself a nice live garden reel and go that route.

Blue Monarch

Supportive Member
Name
Dirk Wingrove