Hey, Meg (or other office managers)...

darcie smith

Name
darcie smith
How do you handle rude customers who refuse to speak to you? I have been answering phones for Scott now for about six months. Most of the time the customers are great and we have positive interactions. If I don't know how to answer their question or if I'm not sure how long a job might take, I contact Scott and get back to the customer as soon as I can.

I had this one guy the other day who owns a few small local specialty retail stores call and ask for Scott. I told him Scott wasn't available, what could I help him with? He was very rude and insisted that Scott was the only one who could help him. I didn't want to argue so I said I'd have Scott call him back. Scott worked a 16 hour day and didn't get a chance to call the guy, who then called back the next day and insisted that I must not have given Scott his message and that no, of course I couldn't help him with his issue. Know what the issue was? He needed to change the date of his cleaning. When Scott finally got in touch with the guy, he explained what I do and that I am more than capable of scheduling his appointment, but I'm not sure he's going to be better next time.

First, I'm offended that he didn't think me capable of helping him. Second, I'm offended that he assumed I didn't deliver his message. I told Scott to tell him if he wants work done he can book online from now on because I'm not taking any more of his calls. I might understand if he was a ten-year client who hadn't heard about my becoming the office staff, but this guy has only done business with us once. Jerk.

Bob Pruitt

Name
Robert Pruitt
Not an Office Manager but do know what I expect from the person who answers the phone...including my phone.
Would hope you are thinking of ways this call could have gone better...so it will next time.

Reactions: Papa John
J

JS41035

Dad always added a 25 dollar charge for being rude to my mom or sister.