High PH reading from carpet.

klndry

I was wondering if someone could provide a bit of advice. I am new to carpet cleaning. I was cleaning a carpet today. I was doing some spotting and after the carpet dried the spotting reappeared. I took a litmus reading and the carpet was indicating a high PH. Is there anything I could have done prior to starting or during the cleaning that would have prevented this reading.

Thanks

Mike Draper

We always rinse the areas extremely well after we treat them. This should do the trick.

Name
I'm Rick James
Mike Draper said:
We always rinse the areas extremely well after we treat them. This should do the trick.

What does Big Green Steam Clean use for rinsing? Are you a green company? You the owner?

Was it wicking or resoiling? How quick did the spots come back? I agree with Mike, rinse all you spray down out.

sweendogg

Name
David Sweeney
http://www.karcher.ca/CCE/Floor_Care_We ... 0BR400.htm

Is this what you are using to clean with? Do you have any other means of extraction such as a portable extractor or Truckmount?

If you are using a VLM method (very low moisture), you need to be using products that are compatible with that system.

What are you using to clean with product wise? If you are using a low moisture system, your safest bet is going to be to use an encap product. If you are using a bonnet cleaner or even a carpet detergent with a pH of 10 or above, you have no way to rinse that product out, leaving soil attracting residue as well as shifting the pH as you have stated. Also if you aren't rinsing and your product does not encapsulate, or dry to a polymer crystal to hold soil, there are going to be a lot of wicking issues as well as you physically have not removed all of the soiling material.. all be it soda or fruite juice, oils, ext.

Tell us some more about your system and we'll help you make better use of it!

Dolly Llama

Number 5
Name
Larry Capitoni
klndry said: