Hole in the CDS waste tank.What can I do?

gimmeagig

Name
Roxy
Hi,
I have a Hydramaster CDS machine and I just found a hole on the bottom of the graywater tank.
I know the best thing to do is taking the tank out and having it welded Or getting a new machine.
Short of that, has anybody here tried to fix a leak like that with epoxy putty?
They make different kinds.One specifically for plumbing that is supposed to be able to set even under water.
I can reach that hole from the outside of the tank It is 1" back from the front edge on the bottom of the tank by the passenger side.So it would be impossible to weld it in place but I can reach it with my hands, so I could possibly apply some kind of sealant.I'm wondering since most of the pressure on the tank comes from the vaccum if an epoxy patch might not be able to do the trick.Or is there maybe another method to fix something like that?I was also thinking I could make a patch out of a coke can and use JB Weld to bond it to the tank and then use the epoxy over the patch.
What should I do?

Jim Martin

Supportive Member
Name
Jim Martin
Re: Hole in the tank.What can I do?

I had a bunch leaks of leaks on my old square fresh tank and I cleaned it out and dried it real good and used water prof JB weld on the cracks and holes and it held up pretty good........I think that if the tank would of stopped contracting so bad it might of held longer....but it buckled to much and sooner or later it cracked the weld....yours being at the bottom would probably hold longer..just make sure it is real clean and dry....

this is only a quick fix...don't expect it to last forever.............

joe harper

Name
joe harper

Two Part ....MARINE EPOXY.....

My BASS TRACKER .....Boat developed a hole in the transom....from electrolysis &
friction from a mounted transducer....THERE was NOTHING left of the alumnium... :evil:

Applied the EPOXY....No sign of a leak in 3 years..."this hole is below the water-line"