How do you deal w/custys not telling you they had a flood and just want cleaning?

jcooper

Name
Jerry Cooper
So, because of the major flooding we had in the area, I'm starting to get calls from home owners that dried everything on their own. They are not telling us this at time of booking.

Example: Get to an apt complex today(dump, but money is money), turns out the entire first floor was flooded for five days, it's dry now... Landlord just wants cleaning, renter is freaking out...

As far as cleaning goes, obviously a total dump(worst case scenario) like this with slumlords is not something I'd like to be involved in. Landlord basically told her move out or clean the carpets.

Generally speaking, client has a flood and dries it themself. You get there to clean and find out about the flood and carpets not totally dry... Not being a wdr expert, I'd assume adding more water by cleaning is the last thing that should be done.

How do you deal w/this? After a flood, do I just need to start asking all calls if they had a flood?

thanks guys...

Name
Steve Lawrence
Could be that they are hoping that cleaning will solve all WDR issues. I'd let them know that it won't and they need to have the place professionally dried.

Name
BradFenstermaker
Explain the limitations of cleaning. Note you are not a drying company, you recommend this and that. Have tennant's and slumlord sign Waiver and proceed making money.

It may not really help but we feel better with the waiver thing. Use it on upholstery, urine decon, extractions or any questionable situations. I don't to any WDR either but do take care of small extractions without drying it.

dealtimeman

Everyday is Saturday.
Name
Michael
If it was rising water,I don't think the walls are dry but that's just me.

Like someone stated above list it on invoice.

jcooper

Name
Jerry Cooper
Not being a wdr expert, I'd assume adding more water by cleaning is the last thing that should be done.