How many of u did ride a longs b4 you started your own biz?

Mikey P

Administrator
A newbie here wants to come out with me yet another guy was telling him ride a longs in general are not that helpful.

IMO the opportunity should be taken with as many willing as possible.

What did you learn on your RAL?

Lefty724

Name
E
I think Ride A Longs are a great idea! If I would have found this board 2 weeks earlier, I would have been asking you Mikey if U could tag along! Come to think of it.................I'm still new and don't know squat.......where do I sign up?

TimM

Supportive Member
Name
Tim Magaw
I think ride alongs are a great learning tool for the right person. some people can read a book and go out and do it, other people just have to get their hands dirty and learn that way.

Becker

Name
Becker
I was 16, did not know anyone with a Rug Dr.

But for a new guy it is a great idea, much like someone wanting to become an officer.

Or in the dating world, don't buy the car till ta test drive it.

Name
Ron lippold
When i started cleaning i had 3 days training. 175 and a protable. A guy has to have the ability to talk to a persons hearing and be able to understand what is being said to them. That is what make the difference between a cleaner and a business owner that is getting ahead.

G

I worked with a guy who had just sold his biz. Part of the agreement was that he would stay on the van till they were both confident that he had someone trained good enough to send out on their own. That was me.
I learned a lot about presprays, detergents, acid rinse, spotting, and upholstery cleaning. The guy was a master cleaner/restorer and willing to share his knowledge and I was willing to learn.

He moved after about 3 months, and I went out on my own after about 6 months. The new owner was lazy and didn't seem to care much about cleaning, I think he just wanted the title of 'business owner'.

Mikey P

Administrator
Winter is a good time of year for ride alongs.