How much heat do you really need?

gimmeagig

Name
Roxy
Hi,
I'm thinking about buying a used truck with a 1999 CDS 4,8 unit in it that has 5100 hrs.
The seller says the machine gets up to about 190 degrees and that that translates to about 120 at the bottom of the wand.He says that is all the heat you need to do a good job.A local dealer tells me that everybody goes to the high heat machines that produce 220- 240 degrees. and that 190 is not enough.Of course he would like me to buy a new machine from him, but starting out I don't have the money for that.
I'm new to this whole thing and as I'm learning more I'm getting more confused.
Is the CDS a good machine? I had also looked at an older PTO how does that compare to a CDS?
How much heat do you really need to do a good job?

Mikey P

Administrator
Depends on how you want to clean...
Do you want to pre vac, pre spray, agitate and then rinse?
or do you want to just run detergents through the machine and wand scrub that dirt loose?

The later will take as much heat as possible while the right way will not need as much but 190 ATM is a bit low IMO.

Matt King