How to seal sub floor?

Bucey

Name
FFA?
The real estate co. that uses me to clean their rentals has asked me if I can seal the sub floor in a home. I've never done this before but was wondering how easy of a process it is? Any suggestions that help I appreciate. And how much should I charge for something like this? And is a product like kiltz that you can buy @ Lowes good enough? Thanks for any help.

Lefty724

Name
E
Concrete or Wood? I am assuming concrete, I would look into RedGaurd from any tile supply or Bostik MVP from a flooring supply. The RG is a little easier to apply using a paint roller while you have to trowel on the MVP. We usually charge about $2/ft plus the cost of the sealer.

Dolly Llama

Number 5
Name
Larry Capitoni
shellac based sealer

Zinsser BIN is the best
Kilz is OK, but Zinsser is better

must be shellac based sealer though, cause Kilz and Zinsser both make other type primer sealers

clear BIN

http://www.zinsser.com/product_detail.asp?ProductID=196

Pigmented BIN
You'll find the pigmented one at any HD or Lowes.
The pigment (white) will also allow you to see how well you covered the area

http://www.zinsser.com/product_detail.asp?ProductID=10

you can use a roller and paint pan if you want, but we just pour it in puddles from the can and roll it out that way.
If you don't have a paint pole, any broom handle that will unscrew from the head will screw into a roller

if it's dog urine you're sealing, just the floors will generally suffice .
if male cat urine, they also spray the base boards and tail high ..rather butt high, up the walls too
so that needs to be addressed as well.
if wood work isn't painted, you'll the clear BIN
Make sure they got rid of the carpet tac strip too

..L.T.A.

Bucey

Name
FFA?
floorguy_724 said: