Newb with questions....and more question

SuperUser

I have been cleaning carpet for about 6 months now and until reading this forum, thought I new how to clean carpets. I am cleaning the way I was trained but have never heard of rinsing carpets to give a neutral PH and am just extracting my pre-spray(TLC) with plain old hot water(about 180-200 degrees). Carpets are definitely cleaner but I always have a tough time with traffic patterns. Would mixing a detergent in with the hot water when extracting solve this problem? I use Ultra-Dry as a post spotting solution and makes a big difference with loosening up the soil in the carpet. I just want to know if there is a way of getting the carpets looking better. The company I work for has a large list of residential customers that have used us for years. We are also looking to build a commercial cleaning customer base but I don't know the difference between cleaning residential and commercial.

I guess what I really need is a free resource that will give me the basics of carpet cleaning, and answer questions like below:

What is an emulsifier and what does it do?
What techniques should be used when cleaning different carpet types?
Is there an easy way to tell the difference between Polypropylene carpets and Olefin?
Is a rotary necessary for every job?
What special precautions and steps need to be taken when cleaning wool carpets(We have a lot of high-end customers)?
Does Cotton needed to be dried special?
I have been drying carpet with centrifugal fair movers. Would Axial air movers work well or is a carpet fan the best option?

So are there any links that someone would recommend so I can advance my understanding and quality of work?

Thanks,

SuperUser

TimP

First thing I suggest is taking a CCT course to get some basics. Not necesarily for the certification but it helps you get a broad over view of things.

SuperUser said: