Pilot Light Question

Goldenboy

Name
Mike Waldron
On real fooking windy days my pilot light will blow out. I have it vented through the ceiling of my roof. Do you think the hole in the roof is part of the problem because its vented out. I have nothing covering it. Its just a hole. Some kind of down draft? I have all my doors closed windy days. What do you think?

Golden Boy

Duane Oxley

Moon Unit
Name
Duane Oxley
Yes.

Back when I cleaned carpet for a living, I had a similar arrangement. But I had a "wedge" vent on the roof, with the open part facing the back of the van. The only time it was a problem was when the wind blew the wrong way and went down the vent... mainly springtime and winter.

An autopilot can remedy that, though...

Jim Martin

Supportive Member
Name
Jim Martin
it is actually called a V.T.R. pipe (vent threw roof ) and it does need a cap on it to prevent downdrafts and things getting into it causing a fire....

1PIPEVENT.jpg

Shane T

Name
Shane Tiegs
I doubt the problem is the vent. Have you turned up the wick on the pilot? Leave one door partially open. between the engine and the burner you need some fresh air in there and you don't want it coming down thru the vent.

rhino1

Name
Chris Bolin
I have to wonder if your heater is propane why did you feel the need to vent thru the roof? I would definitely say that could be one source of the problem, not necessarily from a downdraft but maybe by providing a direct passage for air to leave the van via the vent.

There is some half-forgotten physics lesson tumbling around in my head that would explain why but I can't remember it anymore.

Oh, yeah, and make sure your pilot orifice is clean. We can't go around with stuff jammed up our orifices ya' know. :D

Duane Oxley

Moon Unit
Name
Duane Oxley
rhino1 said:
I have to wonder if your heater is propane why did you feel the need to vent thru the roof?