Square vs Gopayments

Becker

Name
Becker
I've been using square since about OCT of 2010.

It has worked flawlessly for the most part.

Easy to use, clients think it is cool, funds quickly, fees are fair.
However after months of use I feel square has a lot of work to do to be professional enough for businesses to use.
Problems I have had, though minor..
I had tips enabled. By doing this it places a hold of like 40% more than the transactions for 3 days. WOW! Just turn that option off.
Sending a receipt via text or email is more of an advertisement to get more people to sign up for square than a receipt of payment.
It is a good service, but IMO I feel it is better suited to run a garage sale, just not as professional as other options.
My latest problem, I got a charge back., for a sale back on June 3rd.
Client was very happy with the job and had sent me to a neighbor.. Problem was when she got her statement you saw an odd charge. She called her bank, charge came out of CA, square... Bank said it was for farm equipment. So she disputed it and ordered a new card.
I don't like the way charges show up on clients statements.
I'm not concerned about the charge back...

But as of Friday I'm going with gopayments.
I've not used the service yet, but it is linked to my already intuit account with quickbooks. All I had to do was go into settings and flip a switch.
Now I can take payments on the spot, or use my PC. I can also use recurring payment options. receipts are customizable, and look much more professional..
Transactions will show on clients statements as Platinum Professional Carpet Cleaning.
Location maps just like square.
Fees about the same.
I've always had no limits with intuit, thought I did with square, however learned a couple of weeks ago I have a $2500 weekly limit, now square is going to hold $398.00 for 30 days for going over the $2500 limit.
Before and for most it is $1000 weekly.
Accounting will be easier.