Wanting to get into commercial.

Matthew

I've been in business almost 2 years, but I worked for a carpet cleaning company 4 years so I have some experience. Me and my wife work together and clean mostly residential. The money flow seems to be somewhat unpredictable. I've heard apartments are a great way to get into commercial accounts. Does anyone have any advice for getting apartment complexes?

Dolly Llama

Number 5
Name
Larry Capitoni
"Does anyone have any advice for getting apartment complexes?"

go knock on the managers door and ask if they're happy with their current CCer.
Maybe offer to clean one they intend to replace so you can "strut your stuff" and show them how you can save them money by restoring a salvage rag

Personally, I find it's easier getting "decent" money from the mid sized and smaller complexes
(120 units and under)

If you get your foot in the door and pick up an account, try and get the whole ball of wax.
Painting, misc repairs and general cleaning.
It can turn a $100 CCing job into a $1000+ job.

Once they see you're a quality, reliable type biz, you may have a shot at the whole thing

..L.T.A.

GRHeacock

Meat has it right.

Rental apartments and houses also need red stain removal, re-stretches, spot dye or complete dyeing, patching, and water damage cleanups.

The most money is in water damage cleanups. The most common thing is red stain removal.

Any body that is breathing can do routine cleaning, and at the lowest price. That's why many managers go for the lowest price for cleaning. There is not much profit in the routine cleaning.

As an example, an expert's bill can read- "Carpet cleaning $50.00. 4 red stain removals $10.00 each. Patch bedroom where dog ripped carpet $50.00. New door metal in kitchen doorway to dining room $25.00. Spot dye bleached area in living room $50.00"

And like that.

If all you can do is clean, you are missing the main profit of the job.

Gary

Matthew

Now, should I clean one of their salvage rags for free?