What got you started in the business?

Jim Pemberton

MB Exclusive.
Name
Jim Pemberton
What made you become a part of this industry? What were you last doing when you decided this was where you wanted to be?

If you were working for another cleaner, what did you do before you worked for them as well.

Jack May

That Kiwi
Name
John
I was a builder/joiner and running a 19 man workshop. Got out for health reasons. Wood dust flaring up my asthma.

Dad had an established CC business of about 8 years and wanted a helper. I joined for 'a year or so' till I found out what I wanted to do long term. I ended up doing a few courses and got hung on the restoration stuff. CC doesn't do much for me but the challenges of water and fire stuff did.

I stayed with Dad for 2-3n years until they decided to sell up and move back to New Zealand.

I came ahead and started my own business. Dad came over but was not able to join at the time as it wasn't quite to that stage. He went into another business and is now looking at selling that to come back with us.

I like it for the freedom that it gives me. I'm earning enough that my wife doesn't HAVE to work. She does a bit here and there to keep her nursing registrations etc. I usually get to have Breakfast with my family, leave about 8.30. Home 4 out of 5 days for about an hour luch break and then home by 6 each night to again have tea with my wife and girls.

I take a minimum of 3-4 weeks annual leave a year with a solid break of 2+ weeks in one go and then a number of long weekends throughout the rest of the year.

I couldn't do most of this stuff if I worked for someone else.

Yes it has it's ties and down sides, but I've told my wife "Don't you ever let me sell this business when I'm having a bad trot'. There will be times that I wished I didn't have it but they are less than 5% of the year.

John

Jack May

That Kiwi
Name
John
Jim, you almost need to ask a twin thread titled WHY DO YOU STAY IN THIS BUSINESS?