What type of equipment to start-up with

Rick4Life

Hello All!

This my first post, however I can promise it will not be my last. I have enjoyed browsing through this forum for the last few days.

I am a 26 year old at-heart entrepreneur and have yet to start my own business. After reading books and looking through many websites, starting a carpet cleaning business out of my home seems like the best venture for me! I have a bachelors degree in marketing, 1 year of experience in marketing in Houston real estate and 3 years in sales management. After selling myself on this idea, I walked into my office and put in my 2 weeks with my company to start this adventure (Yesterday!)! I have saved enough money to live comfortably, without any income for 4 months, and enough to spend about $2000 in start-up costs for this business.

I believe I will pick up on the marketing and networking side of this all quickly, however do not have all the experience in the world with actual carpet cleaning. I plan on obtaining my business license, opening a business bank account, purchasing insurance, building my website and getting marketing materials in my first month.

A huge question I would like some advice on is what equipment should I start with? I'm assuming since I am only starting with $2000, and there are more expenses than just the equipment in the start-up phase that I will need to finance it (not an issue).

I would like something that shows me as a professional, however does not require long term expertise to operate and carry around. I will be starting out with a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT to lug everything around.

Btw, my monthly bills/expenses are a little over $2000. According to the reading I'm doing, it does seem very feasible to bring in my monthly requirements after a few months of work if I'm doing this full time and build a pipeline of customers.

Does anyone have any constructive advice for equipment I should start with considering my circumstances?