Who is our biggest enemy?

K

kmatt

Im still pretty new to this industry but I have noticed that more people put off having their carpets professionally done because they have a "steam vac or a Bissell" than any other reason. Im guessing that many of us have the same situation in their area (if we hear from these potential customers at all) I started to look around on the web for things I can use to get people to leave the steamvac in the closet a little more often and start calling a professional. There is very little around to combat who I think is our greatest competitor.....Wal-Mart, Target, Cosco ect...
I thought it might be nice to have a thread of just facts that we can use tell/sell the difference between low grade soaps and machinery vs. what we offer the customer. I can always come up with a few but it would be nice to have a real long list that we can all draw from to improve our advertising.
Thanks

Name
I'm Rick James
The biggest enemy is yourself.

I own a bissel upright cleaner and its no where near what a TM can do. I run across that alot, you always know who uses the bissel at home from how their carpet soils. I tell them its good to use for spot clean up or maybe in between cleanings. I always tell them not to use the bissel soap and suggest to them to use a white vinegar extraction mix. I tell them if they do use it to vacuum really well and the best way to use it. I cant say I loose business from it, but I think it helps with their level of trust with me.

The home cleaners will never replace us, all you can do is be there when they need you and offer good sound advice.

harryhides

Name
Tony
I've driven through Watertown, many times enroute to warmer weather.
With a population of 20k or so and a long winter, you need to be offering several services.

Bissel is not your enemy - in any ways, it is your friend. Same goes for Rug Doctor.