Is my blower fried again???

gimmeagig

Name
Roxy
Hi guys,
I'm not going to have a nice weekend! I have a 1999 Hydramaster CDS and last year in August I had to replace the blower. It had seized.
So now I have a similar problem, the blower still turns but there is a lot of drag, to the point that it almost shuts off the truck engine. So I abandoned the job I was about to do and scheduled an appointment with LPM, which is the local repair place.
To get a little more information, I disconnected the drive line and took off the belt that powers the blower. The driveline and the pillow blocks turn easily, but the blower is really tight. It can be turned by hand but not easily. It is a Tuthill Competitor Blower Series 21/22/23. I tried to call Hydramaster fo find out what could be the problem , but nobody picks up the phone. According to the manual I have 24 months warranty, but what if something bad got sucked into the blower, would that void the warranty?
I don't understand how blowers work, so I have no idea how the air flows through it and what could possibly get into the intake, to cause the blower to have resistance like that.
I understand lack of lubrication could cause it to seize, that is not the case here. Maybe some metal object in the intake could seize it also but it's not that either. Nothing that might have gotten into the tank even punctured the mesh intake filter.
So what could possibly make it so sluggish that you can barely turn the driveline by hand?
I have an appointment at LPM in Spokane on Monday, but I sure would like to find out a little sooner if I'm looking at a possible second blower replacement or if that is something that could be fixed.
What do you guys think?

FredC

Village Idiot
no point in the rotation is there a dragging noise or clunk?

I'd pop the inlet off and have a look

GeneMiller

Name
gene miller