Attn Jim Martin, Michael or Mikey Solution Reel Motor Quit Vortex

BLewis

Supportive Member
Name
Billy Lewis
Just after winding up suction hose Saturday the power went out on the V panel altogether. Shut power button off and back on and everything was good to go. However when we went to our Sunday night jobs and after 1st job was complete was getting ready to wind the suctionhose back up we got nothing. Checked all fuses, pulled off cover to motor, and direct wired switch and tried to bypass sylinoid like on the old cars I can't get anything. Seems not to have power at all. Checked brushs on motor (picture enclosed) it seemed fine. Any ideas where this motor gets it power from? Tried to trace the wires but couldn't determine where they went. Any ideas? I'm not an electrician but I am going to take a voltmeter and play around but I don't really know what I'm doing.

photo-39.jpg

photo-40.jpg

photo-38.jpg

photo-37.jpg

Last edited:

BLewis

Supportive Member
Name
Billy Lewis
You seen that too! Lower right hand corner. Ash you have any ideas? wasn't meaning to leave anyone out I just figured those mentioned may have had first hand experience. Somehow I do think that the power shutting off Saturday and this problem are connected.

Jim Martin

Supportive Member
Name
Jim Martin
Take a test light and start at the motor and work you way back until it does not light up any more...fastest and easiest way to do this........

FredC

Village Idiot
Michael,

isn't the reel motor power drawn directly from the battery (+) leaving only the components in the pics except maybe an inline fuse?

BLewis

Supportive Member
Name
Billy Lewis
Fred , I think you may be right, I crawled all under that fooker for an hour today, only problem was it split near the battery and looked as if it was headed to control panel.
michael had panel apart today and started to take pics of that also but did n't. Have a 10-2 job Tue, then I will get pics and call

FredC

Village Idiot