Be Careful of your Sprayer,

steamron

Name
Ron
I have been doing this carpet cleaning thing for 20+ years and when I first got into it I purchased a inline sprayer and thought that it was a great tool, I must of purchased a few of them over the years. I typically would put my pre-spray in and sprayed away what needed done. Being that the gun had the pre-spray spraying close to the carpet (TM idling at about 250psi) I never really gave it much thought about any back wards misting towards me.

Well the last sprayer broke so I started using a pump up sprayer over a year ago and found out that I have been saving so much more pre-spray over this last year that I should of listen to someone a few years ago who tried to sell me a battery sprayer. A gallon of rtu pre-spray goes a long way and there is no kick back of mist towards me to breath in.

Now I am not blaming the spray for this but I found out 2 years ago that I have Lymphoma, no one in my family knows of anyone in the family that has had it.
They say that your environment may play a roll in contracting lymphoma, your exposure to chemicals, pesticide and etc. All I want to say to all of you is that if you think that you may be inhaling any chemicals that may be kicking back up to consider changing your habits.

My Lymphoma is a slow growing, low grade type, and I hope and pray that it stays there since I kind of like doing this job.

Enough said;

Derek

Supportive Member
Name
Derek
very sorry to hear Ron. it does make think twice about the products i use. my wife says i should wear a mask sometimes.

all the best to you and yours.

floorguy

Supportive Member
Name
Doug
sorry to hear about that...

my take on the whole "it could be hurting you" theory....

everyone is different and some are more prone to problems then others...

back in the day (dont ask) when my dad bought his PS from a chemist in a different cleaning arena...