Carpet Stretching

realclean

Name
Jesse Lowe
I get about 5 to 8 calls a month asking me if I stretch carpet.

Now my question is, is this something worth doing? Does it make profit for you if you do it?

I also have no clue how to price this as I have never done it before.

I am just looking for some feedback. Thanks:confusedd:

hogjowl

Idiot™
You'll need to take a carpet repair course.

And then practice before you will be any good at it.

It's not rocket science, but like everything else in this business, you won't be very good at it until you have a few under your belt.

For me, it wasn't the stretching that was the problem. It was the seaming that took time to get any good at.

Today, there are better ways to seam though. With the new Kool Seal (or whatever they are called) seaming irons, you can get better much faster than in my day.

I have always had multiple calls for seaming over the years. In fact, I have two property management companies that are quite put out by the fact that I won't do repair work anymore.

I quit doing it because it took much longer to do and I was the only one who could do it. So, I was spending time doing something I didn't like (stretching and repairs) when I could have been doing what I liked to do ... which is cleaning.

Reactions: SamIam and WillS

handdi

Supportive Member
Name
Randy
call me sometime we do 1 or 2 every week
very rare to cut a seam sometimes ya have too
must have a helper we make good money doing these.
price it till ya like it kinda thing

Willy P

Name
Willy P
You'll need to take a carpet repair course.

And then practice before you will be any good at it.

It's not rocket science, but like everything else in this business, you won't be very good at it until you have a few under your belt.

For me, it wasn't the stretching that was the problem. It was the seaming that took time to get any good at.