Fractional Owership

Ivan Turner

Supportive Member
Name
Ivan Turner
Fractional ownership in high end toys like airplanes, boats and real estate like condominiums has been in existence for a long time.

The advantage are many, risk are reduced and by and large the real reason for most fractional agreements is that the buy in cost is reduced.

So my question is this; does it make sense for restorers to form fractional agreements for large scale drying equipment like; trailer mounted desiccants, high output generators, etc.

As a pilot, I had checked into many fract opportunities, each of which were very affordable. The concept I that each owner is responsible for the buy in cost, plus a nominal fee per hour used.

All fract owners are maintenance and other miscellaneous cost based on their time in aircraft. The biggest advantage is that one has access to large scale equipment without the full cost. Like mentioned, there are disadvantages as well.

This is just a thought for discussion.

Mikey P

Administrator
If Eric from Quality Carpet Care, I'd reading this I'd like to offer a time share for my two Dri Pods and 4 Omni Minis.

dgardner

Name
Dan Gardner
I'm not a restorer, but my understanding is when a loss occurs you need it now, unlike an aircraft or boat that you can schedule in advance. What if both parties needed the equipment at the same time - or were competing for the same job? Who wins?

Desk Jockey

Name
Rico Suave
I hate sharing.

However in saying that I have a huge air compressor for soda blasting that sits way too much. Probably should have rented instead of buying.

I think it could have potential, I have rented TES trailers from Interlink and another cleaning when our trailer wasn't enough for the project or we had multiple needs at the same time.

Dan did point out an issue that would need to be addressed and carved in stone, should the situation arise.

Ivan Turner

Supportive Member
Name
Ivan Turner