Frozen Truckmount ?

Warren Wallace

Supportive Member
What do you guys do when its 0 out with -20 wind chill? Well I went to
work and froze all the lines in the front of my truck :( So question is what do you
do to prefant this from happing. This is my first year with a tm and what a bad lesson
I have learned here, any help would be apreciated.

PS to busy to just stay home when its this cold.

Doug D

Supportive Member
Name
Doug Dimick
One thing I do is to bring in everything you need to clean with except your solution line. Bring in the solution lines last and keep the water moving. Put the male coupler in and turn your valve on just enough to keep the line open and put it in the vacuum hose with the machine running and the vacuum hose hooked up. If you have to stop for any reason for a period of time, keep the solution line open again.

John Watson

Warren Wallace said:

I used to clean till it hit 20 below, we used 3 men per truck and run like hell during hook up and the wand never quit moving. We had extra sets of water hoses and pressure lines and even with 3 guys runnig froze lines. We insulated all brass fitting cause the seem to freeze and split first. We also had our own mechanic in shop and the cold days were his buzzyest keeping at least 2 of our 7 cleaning rigs thawed out to clean...

For a one man crew, stay home and reschedule till temp is at least 26-30 degrees This is what Helen and I do in Weather like this. In fact we are just heading out on todays jobs..

Desk Jockey

Name
Rico Suave
As others have said hook up solution last
Have on board water
Warm up unit before you get to job (to be sure it starts)
Leave doors closed until you start the unit
Park to block the wind as much as possible.
Never drag your solution line through snow the QD's will freeze up fast.

Rookie mistake, you will be fine once you get the hang of it.

Shane T

Name
Shane Tiegs