maxx 470 wont stay running

Kevin B

Name
Kevin Bunce
Ok. Here is the deal. I have a hydramaster Maxx 470 that has been fairly trouble free for the last 3 years. Today, we started the machine up, and was idling for a few minutes and when I went to turn up the RPM, the machine just died. I never actually pushed the switch to adjust engine speed. So, I cranked the engine over, it sputtered a bit, and wouldn't start.

To back up some, over the last week or so, the machine has died randomly and started right up.

I have bypassed the fuel shutoff solenoid, just in case it was a shut off sensor or relay. I did this bypass with a "hot" wire right from the battery. I have pulled the fuel line off and it appears to be getting a decent flow of fuel from the fuel pump.

I did pull the shutoff solenoid from the bottom of the bowl on the carborator and reinstalled and the machine actually ran for a few seconds before dying. Could this be some sort of carborator problem, fuel pump problem? Electrical problem that I'm just unaware of? I don't know if the machine has some sort of "kill switch" beyond the fuel solenoid.

Tomorrow morning, I plan on replacing the fuel pump, spark plugs and giving it a shot again. What else should I check? If those things don't work, should I pull the carb and clean it? Engine has 2500 hours on it.

Name
R.J. Povio