Moisture barrier/spill guard padding

Name
R.J. Povio
Man o man what a pain in the ass to extract moisture barrier pad from a sump pump malfunction in a basement. I had 700 sq ft of the carpet to pull up and then flip pad over to extract with a flash xtractor. You cannot extract that pad from the top of the carpet (like the flash xtractor claims). This is my first time dealing with this type pad (we do not specialize in flood restoration, but do it if people ask).

The strangest part was that of the 700 sq ft of flooded area, only about 100 sq ft of the carpet was wet. That pad works so good that the water hardly got the carpet wet, and no musty smell at all. The custy and I both thought it was only wet in a couple small areas. Luckily I pulled up the carpet and pad to place blowers under for drying. That pad (all of it, wall to wall) was soaked!!! The whole 700 sq ft of it. I had no idea judging from the top of the carpet. Even if you stomped on the carpet to listen for a "skwishy" sound you could not hear it. That pad is really durable, it never fell apart from extraction (unlike conventional pad). Very heavy too (before and after extraction).

I am wondering if anyone has experience with extracting this type of pad? Is there a better way to do it?

I just wanted to share my experiences with some of the newbies on Mikeysboard as well. Definitely check or ask if a moisture barrier pad was installed....I would definitely charge more for extracting this type of padding in the future.

rwcarpet

Supportive Member
Name
Robert Hodge
Shane T said:
How does one know this pad from the conventional pad? Does it look different?