My first step into advertising

Ross Buettner

Name
Ross Buettner
I've been hitting my head into a wall for a few months on how to get my residential service off the ground.

I've debated:

Valpak
Money Saver (local magazine)
Smart Shopper (another local magazine)
Groupon (yeah, not making much but getting my name out)
Digital Billboards
Gas Pump toppers
Local Metro Transit system bus advertisment

I ran into a Yellowbook salesperson. A freind of mine just dropped 22K in advertising with her :shock:

She got me a 1/4 page color ad that will hit 184,000 homes in November and May. Twice a year. A five page webstite (I've not been able to get one going, or had the 2-3 grand to get it going), First ranking on their website, which is on the top listing in Google search.

One year, 12 months billable for 138.00 per month. If I can't get ONE dang job out of it to pay for it, I have bigger problems than just that. The phone number in the book transfers to mine, and it logs the calls to see what kind of productivity I have.

Combined with Robinson's Google Ranking, I should have very adequate web listings. I've seen about 50 of this company's websites, and I have to say I am pretty impressed.

The van is going in for lettering in 2 weeks.

My goal is to not be dependant on my janitorial franchise (I won't disown them, I just don't want to rely on them like I am now) buy 2014. I feel pretty comfortable with the decision I made today to get there. It's a small step, but one that won't keep me too busy so I am rejecting work.

Royal Man

Name
Dave Yoakum
You believed a Yellowbook salesman because a friend spent 22K?

This is a joke right?

Anyway Yellow Book is in the middle of page #2 of google for "carpet cleaning greenbay wi'. the most common search. It is buried!!

Every one except a directory sales person know that a directory is not the place to be.

You'll be listed along with 59 of your competitors.

(The very last place you'd want to advertise.)