Nahavand Runner

Jim Morrison

Name
jim
I recently cleaned some area rugs for a custy. 6 synthetics and 1 wool. He must have been happy with the work because now he dropped off a 4' x 17' Nahavand runner. Looks like it came from Iran and has wool / cotton construction.

8e5640de.jpg

I have never cleaned something like this before and am looking for suggestions. I'm not set up for much other than vacuuming and hwe.

Even with a fairly neutral spotter the colors seem to release quiet easily

eb2a57d7.jpg

G

I have cleaned thousands of oriental rugs. I am not an expert on "names" but do know charicteristics.

Dry cleaning with OMS is clrearly the safest but least effective.

I would likely pre treat with acetic acid. I would consider hand shampooing (low ph using the suds (cold water)) then extracting with a stair/furniture tool for greater moisture removal. Post treat with acetic acid (or any low ph color stabilizing product). Laying face down helps reduce or eliminate color run in the drying.

I would not use hwe.

I cannot tell from photo if pile or flatweave? If pile could test clean an area on the back.

Restricted moisture (low ph) and accelerated drying should be safe and should provide the best outcome. But I would understand a cleaner not wanting to risk it and dry cleaning.

The brand products I am most familiar with are Dynasty shampoo (6.0ph) and Pros Choice color stablizer (2.5ph?)

Good luck.

sweendogg

Name
David Sweeney