Proper technique. 2 step or three step process?

dekare

What's actually better for cleaning? A two step or three step process? The two step would be detergent put down with a pump sprayer, agitated and for a rinse, a chemical rinse agent run through the wand. To me that would be the way to leave your customer's carpet residue free.

The three step would be a pre-spray with a pump sprayer, agitated, then detergent run through the wand and a rinse then applied to the carpet with a pump sprayer. I can see the wisdom of applying the detergent with a wand, but it does nothing for the removal of any detergent residue.

I'll admit I'm pretty new to all this, just trying to clear up something I don't fully understand.

hogjowl

Idiot™
Yeah, I can tell.

You didn't even get the steps right.

Two step is prespray and rinse extract.

Three step is prevacuum, prespray and rinse extract.

99% of the time agitation is a waste.

rhino1

Name
Chris Bolin
Depends on the situation really. Also depends on how much the customer is willing to invest in their cleaning.

Marty said:
Yeah, I can tell.

You didn't even get the steps right.

Two step is prespray and rinse extract.

Three step is prevacuum, prespray and rinse extract.

99% of the time agitation is a waste.

Don't listen to this guy. A scrub with 175 and decent brush or pad will always make the carpet clean easier and better.

How long does it take to run a rotary around the traffic areas? A few minutes per room. And it makes you look like you are doing a much more thorough job which you are.

But yes there are plenty of carpets that good heat and chems will make the cleaning a cinch.

Just when you think spray and suck is the way to go, you will come across some that need more.

It's also an easy sell for tile cleaning. Every customer asks wow what is that you are doing. I tell them this is a real deep clean. I can run it on your tile too if you want us to knock that out for you. It's one of the easiest sells we do.

Name