Silencer

glenboy

Name
GLEN
I have been running a stoddard silencer for the past 7 years...2" pipe on the ends and I believe a 6" body....replacement cost 320.00..:eek: what are the alternative replacements for these...,?????

Name
Shawn Forsythe
Glen,

You might consider a Universal Silencer (brand name). Here is a brochure.

The probable closest crossover to what you have is the SD series (# SD-2). You may find that this size is a tad small for the CFM you are running, and may want to consider a larger size. I am supposing however that your reason for posting is that you find the existing price a bit exorbitant. However, Universal's offerings are going to be comparably priced.

Some users have found alternative types (not designed for PD blowers at all), mainly for automotive engine applications, to be "satisfactory". To each, his own I suppose. The truth is that for the particular sound characteristics of a roots-type blower, the combo absorptive/reactive silencers, tailored for the resident frequencies, are most effective. That is why Stoddards, Burgess Manning, and Universals are so common.

glenboy

Name
GLEN
Thank you so much shawn...very good info....@.kevin..just got in the door from a night job...cant bend well right now..but I will measure in the AM....

Shane T

Name
Shane Tiegs
IMO the automotive type silencers(mufflers) don't do the job if your turning the blower anywhere near optimum speeds. I've tried on and two mufflers in several configurations and have not been happy with the results. Get the Stoddard/Universal type silencers, even at the higher cost. Just wondering why you need a replacement? These things last a long time if you not sucking a lot of water thru them.

Ed Valentine

Name
Ed Valentine
We used to use a quality flo-thru Automotive muffler (ss) and had absolutely no problems. You might want to look into those at a local store...........................

bob vawter

Grassy Knoller
Name
bob vawter