We have an opportunity to bid 36k concrete

BLewis

Supportive Member
Name
Billy Lewis
Posted in The Hard Surface Room but no responses so reposting here for advice.

Opportunity to bid Cleaning & Sealing of 36k Concrete Warehouse
Call came in today. I have limited experience on this type of work. I just spent an hour or so reading search topics on here and came across a "few" things that may help.

Going to look at job on Friday night, I got the inside scoop on first bid to tune of 38K, so they are bidding out to additional companies.

This is just one of those opportunities that come along that I don't want to walk if there's a chance we can pull this off. However, do not want to bite off more than we can do.

From what I gathered, I am going to asses the condition of the floor, has been empty for 3 years, asses the loader tracks etc. Keeping in mine possibly renting auto scrubbers. Several chemicals recommended, have extensive use of Zep with HC. Only equipment I have now that might assist is 175 rotary, black pads, that I'm not to worried about getting rid of tire marks. We also have couple of turbos and a surface cleaner we use when power washing concrete pads.

Biggest concern is "sealing" which I have zero experience in.

For you concrete guys give me some/more ideas of what I should be looking for Friday night when I go to look at it. Thanks

Doug Cox

Supportive Member
Name
Doug Cox
Why would you get involved in a huge job with which you have no experience? Sounds like a huge liability

floorguy

Supportive Member
Name
Doug
UHHH WHAT TYPE OF sealing were you think??

whats it going to be used for...

you either have to

A. degrease and then acid etch

B shotblast

the B would be if you were going to be putting a thick coat of epoxy (as it will fill the voids...)

also what was it used for before??

Shane Deubell

Supportive Member
Usually we will double scrub it with degreaser/stripper and black pads, then 2 layers of concrete sealer.